Regional Information Sharing Systems Program

The mission of the Regional Information Sharing Systems (RISS) Program is to assist federal, state, local, and tribal criminal justice partners by providing adaptive solutions and services that facilitate information sharing, support criminal investigations, and promote officer safety. RISS, a Bureau of Justice Assistance partner, has been supporting the law enforcement and criminal justice communities for more than 40 years. RISS is composed of six regional centers and the RISS Technology Support Center. RISS works regionally and nationwide to respond to the unique crime problems of each region, while strengthening the country's information sharing environment. More than 9,000 federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement and public safety agencies are members of RISS. RISS is used and trusted by hundreds of thousands of law enforcement officers and criminal justice professionals in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, Canada, England, and New Zealand.

Institute for Intergovernmental Research
Resource Type: 
Justice Topic: 
Justice Information Sharing